The San Gallo Palace hotel, a new 4-star residence in the heart of medieval Florence, offers the best services for the leisure tourist who wishes to discover the beauty of Florence, but is also ideal for business stays.
The San Gallo Palace offers an elegant atmosphere with attention to the smallest details, parking arrangements, interior garden and American Bar; the hotel is just a few minutes on foot from the most beautiful places in the city.
The San Gallo Palace Hotel was opened in 2003 and renovated in 2011 in a nineteenth century building , which was erected on the ruins of the Florentine Convent of the Friars Hermits of St. Augustine - Santa Maria del Popolo of San Gallo. The construction of the complex is in fact as a central episode in the life of the city : it is set up at the behest of Lorenzo de ' Medici, called the Magnificent and friar Mariano da Gennazzano in 1488 , with the design and direction of the renowned Florentine architect Giuliano de ' Giamberti .
The church around which the monastery was founded existed since 1218 and was dedicated to monaco hermit San Gallo , hence named the nearby Porta San Gallo which still can be seen in Piazza della Libertà. The charming Liberty Square in front of the Hotel, formerly Piazza di Porta San Gallo in the fourteenth century , the heart of medieval Florence, marks the northernmost point of the historic center of Florence.
The door, whose keys are still kept in the " Museum of Florence as it was ," was one of the busiest in the city.
The Hotel San Gallo Palace takes its name from the ancient Porta San Gallo , part of the medieval city walls , built from 1285, decorated by two stone lions and the inner bezel with a fresco of the Madonna and Saints . On the door there is an inscription commemorating the foundation of the building at the behest of the Captain of the Guelph party Rolandino from Canossa and another one celebrates the passage of King Frederick IV of Denmark .
The grand Triumphal Arch, erected in 1738 to celebrate the entry of Habsburg- Lorraine, after the extinction of the Medici family , is right in front of the Porta San Gallo.
Along Via San Gallo (called the "Way of the Booksellers ," for its many bookshops new or used) , you can reach easily the Piazza del Duomo.